Request Inspection Copy

If you are an Academic or Teacher and wish to consider this book as a prescribed textbook for your course, you may be eligible for a complimentary inspection copy. Please complete this form, including information about your position, campus and course, before adding to cart.

* Required Fields

To complete your Inspection Copy Request you will need to click the Checkout button in the right margin and complete the checkout formalities. You can include Inspection Copies and purchased items in the same shopping cart, see our Inspection Copy terms for further information.

Any Questions? Please email our text Support Team on


Email this to a friend

* ALL required Fields

Order Inspection Copy

An inspection copy has been added to your shopping cart

Tilted Cup: Noh Stories

by Paul Griffiths and John L Tran Sylph Editions
Pub Date:
Pbk 44 pages
AU$39.99 NZ$40.86
Product Status: Out of stock. Not available to order.
Paul Griffiths and rsquo;s The Tilted Cup effects a multilayered translation, taking a series of eleven Japanese Noh plays and turning them into stories in English. The reader will encounter spirit-beings set free, lovers lost and found, dreams and desires fulfilled, lessons learned from nature, and always a longing for the infinite, as the long, slow drama of each Noh play is transformed into a short and moving tale. Interspersed and contrasting with the stories are ten photographs of contemporary Japan by John L. Tran that further explore the relation between theatricality and narrative, while offering hints of a very different vision of infinitude.

Kayoi Komachi
Hachi No Ki
Fumi Yamadachi

GÇ£[A] handsome addition to the Cahier series. . . . The stories are presented with a restraint well suited to the dignified aesthetic of Noh theatre, but they can be daring in their inclusion of details and turns of phrase that come not from the original text so much as from images that the texts have suggested to Griffiths.n++?
Paul Griffiths worked for thirty years as a music critic in London and New York. His Modern Music and After, now in its third edition, is the standard work on music since 1945. His fictional works include Let Me Tell You and the libretto of Elliott Carter and rsquo;s only opera, What Next?. John L. Tran is a British artist of Vietnamese descent, currently based in Tsukuba, Japan.