Request Inspection Copy

If you are an Academic or Teacher and wish to consider this book as a prescribed textbook for your course, you may be eligible for a complimentary inspection copy. Please complete this form, including information about your position, campus and course, before adding to cart.

* Required Fields

To complete your Inspection Copy Request you will need to click the Checkout button in the right margin and complete the checkout formalities. You can include Inspection Copies and purchased items in the same shopping cart, see our Inspection Copy terms for further information.

Any Questions? Please email our text Support Team on


Email this to a friend

* ALL required Fields

Order Inspection Copy

An inspection copy has been added to your shopping cart

Olivier Assayas

by Kent Jones Austrian Film Museum
Pub Date:
Pbk 256 pages
AU$66.00 NZ$68.70
Product Status: Out of stock. Not available to order.
Over the past few decades, French filmmaker Olivier Assayas has become a powerful force in contemporary cinema. Between his first feature Désordre (1986) and such major works as L’Eau froide, Irma Vep, Les Destinées Sentimentales, demonlover and, most recently, L’Heure d’été and Carlos, he has charted an exciting path, strongly embracing narrative and character and simultaneously dealing with the ‘fragmentary reality’ of life in a global economy. He also brought a fresh perspective to the problem of politics after ‘68, a subject that he revisits in his memoir A Post-May Adolescence (published as a companion book to this volume) and in his most recent film Après-Mai.

This first English-language book about Olivier Assayas includes a major essay by Kent Jones, based on his two decades of correspondence and exchanges of ideas with the filmmaker, as well as contributions from Assayas and his most important artistic collaborators. The central part consists of individual essays on each of his works, written by Chris Chang, Larry Gross, Howard Hampton, Kristin M. Jones, B. Kite, Glenn Kenny, Michael Koresky, Alice Lovejoy, Greil Marcus, Geoffrey O’Brien, Jeff Reichert, Richard Suchenski, and Gina Telaroli.

Preface, by Kent Jones
Westway to the World, by Glenn Kenny
Black Boxes. Désordre, by Jeff Reichert
Cold Comforts. L'Enfant de l'hiver, by Alice Lovejoy
When You Leave, You Want Time to Stand Still. Paris s'éveille, by Michael Koresky
Moving On. Une nouvelle vie, by Kent Jones
Revival. L'Eau froide, by Howard Hampton
The Strange Case of Irma Vep. Irma Vep, by Larry Gross
After Art Cinema. HHH—Portrait de Hou Hsiao-hsien, by Kristin M. Jones
The Soul in Times of Danger. Fin août, début septembre, by Richard Suchenski
"How Futile Work Is." Les Destinées sentimentales, by B. Kite
Stop Stop Start Again. Demonlover, by Nick Pinkerton
Better to Fade Away. Clean, by Chris Chang
The Doctor Is In. Noise, by Gina Telaroli
Anywhere and Everywhere. Boarding Gate, by Kent Jones
Cosmic Pulses. Eldorado, by Geoffrey O'brien
The Secret Life of Objects. L'Heure d'été, by Greil Marcus
What the Film Wants. Carlos, by Kent Jones
Lost Companions and Fleeing Ghosts. Après-Mai, by David Phelps, Kent Jones
Early and In-Between. Short Films, by Collaborators
Denis Lenoir, Éric Gautier, Sylvie Barthet, and Luc Barnier in conversation with Kent Jones, by Olivier Assayas
Ten Films
List of Illustrations

Enthusiastic, personal, and easy to read.... Recommended.
Kent Jones is an internationally recognized writer and filmmaker. He writes regularly for Film Comment and his work has appeared in many magazines, newspapers, anthologies, and catalogues. In 2007, Wesleyan University Press published Physical Evidence, a selection of his writings. In 2009, he was appointed Executive Director of The World Cinema Foundation. He has worked with Martin Scorsese on numerous projects and documentary films including My Voyage to Italy (1999), Val Lewton: The Man in the Shadows (2007) which he wrote and directed, and the Emmy-nominated and Peabody Award-winning A Letter to Elia (2010). He is preparing a feature film, It Never Entered My Mind, for the winter of 2012.